Thursday, February 12, 2009

Bitten, by Kelley Armstrong
(Women of the Otherworld Series, Book 1)

This book is definitely for mature audiences. Extremely detailed Sex scenes, killing, blood and gore. I loved it!

This book is about the only female werewolf in existence, Elena Michaels. The werewolf gene is passed down to sons but not daughters. Elena was bitten by a werewolf and miraculously survived the change against the odds becoming the only female werewolf in the world. She still harbors resentment against the werewolf that bit her, Clay, her x-fiancee. Werewolves live in packs and don't kill humans. Those that choose not to live in a pack are called mutts and sometimes do kill humans.

The only thing Elena has wanted her entire life was a family. Becoming a werewolf squashed that dream, but she tries her hardest to create as much of a family as she can and still keep her secret. Elena, a mutt, living in Toronto-Canada, is dating an architect that she recently moved in with. Living with a human guy does make it difficult to leave in the middle of the night to go running naked in the woods. But she manages to keep it together.

Then she starts getting phone calls from her former pack mate and leader of the werewolves, Jeremy, saying it's urgent that she contact him. She tries avoiding the call but eventually gives in and calls, and calls, and calls. No one picks up even after days of trying. Finally sick with worry she decides to take a trip back to the place she ran away from months before, Upstate New York, and Clay.

Arriving in NY she discovers that mutts have been killing humans a little too close to pack territory bringing unwanted attention to the pack. Elena tries to help her pack mates defend their territory while trying to deal with her old flame Clay. The story really takes off from here. Amazingly detailed and believable. Nicely done.


Women of the Otherworld Series:

Book 2 Stolen
Book 3 Dime Store Magic
Book 4 Industrial Magic
Book 5 Haunted
Book 6 Broken
Book 7 No Humans Involved
Book 8 Personal Demon
Book 9 Living with the Dead
Book 10 Frostbitten
Book 11 Waking the Witch
Book 12 Spell Bound (Coming in 2012)

Spin off Book: Men of the Otherworld

No comments:

Post a Comment